The Flaming Lips Announce New Album American Head, Share Song: Listen

Music News, News

The Flaming Lips have announced a new album called American Head. The King’s Mouth follow-up arrives September 11 via Warner. (A double colored vinyl follows on October 2, along with limited edition art prints.) It’s produced by longtime collaborator Dave Fridmann and features the Kacey Musgraves collaboration “Flowers of Neptune 6.” Check out the tracklist and new song “My Religion Is You” below.

In a story Wayne Coyne wrote, excerpted in the press release, he says, “The music and songs that make up the AMERICAN HEAD album are based in a feeling. A feeling that, I think, can only be expressed through music and songs. We were, while creating it, trying to NOT hear it as sounds… but to feel it. Mother’s sacrifice, Father’s intensity, Brother’s insanity, Sister’s rebellion… I can’t quite put it into words.”

Earlier this year, the Flaming Lips released a collaborative LP with Deap Valley, as Deap Lips. Coyne and co. recently stopped by The Late Show With Stephen Colbert, where they performed “Race for the Prize” with an actual audience, from the socially distanced confines of giant bubbles.

Read Pitchfork’s 2013 interview with the band.

[embedded content]

American Head:

01 Will You Return / When You Come Down
02 Watching the Lightbugs Glow
03 Flowers Of Neptune 6
04 Dinosaurs On The Mountain
05 At The Movies On Quaaludes
06 Mother I’ve Taken LSD
07 Brother Eye
08 You n Me Sellin’ Weed
09 Mother Please Don’t Be Sad
10 When We Die When We’re High
11 Assassins of Youth
12 God and the Policeman (ft. Kacey Musgraves)
13 My Religion Is You

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Watch Ian Isiah’s Video for New Song “Loose Truth”
Rage Against the Machine’s Tom Morello Shares New Protest Song “Stand Up”: Listen
Kehlani Sued For Allegedly Damaging Ferrari Rental
Jay-Z’s Team ROC Calls for Prosecution of Wisc. Cop in Full-Page Ad
JAY-Z’s Made in America 2020 Canceled Due to COVID-19

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *